DLL Injection

c++ / delphi package - dll injection and api hooking

DLL Injection

Postby Mr. FancyPants » Sun May 30, 2004 5:20 pm

Hi, I have a problem with my DLL. Injecting the DLL into the process works fine, but when I try to show a form that's located in the dll, it doesn't show up (actually it does, but it dissappears right after that). It works fine when I use ShowModal instead of Show, but that's not what i need. I know this doesn't have much to do with madCodeHook itself, but I would be glad if you could help. It's probably some stupid thingy i forgot. (I'm such a n00b :o )

I have another question, when you have injected the DLL, how do you call the functions within the injected DLL.

Thanks in advance.
Mr. FancyPants
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 1:27 pm

Postby nildo » Mon May 31, 2004 11:17 am

You should Never use VCL into a Hook DLL.
nildo
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 11:32 am

Postby Mr. FancyPants » Mon May 31, 2004 3:03 pm

I know, but how should I do it then?
Mr. FancyPants
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 1:27 pm

Postby madshi » Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:41 am

nildo is right, don't use the VCL. Instead use MessageBox. Or build your own dialogs by using CreateWindow and that stuff. It's quite hard work, though.

What do you mean with "when you have injected the DLL, how do you call the functions within the injected DLL"? What exactly do you want to do?
madshi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9774
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Postby Mr. FancyPants » Tue Jun 01, 2004 1:45 pm

Never mind, I don't think this is gonna work anyway. Actually, what I really want to know is how to show my form in the context of another process. So it will stay on top, even if the (DirectX) target application uses full screen mode. I'd better not use hooks, since it might get me banned from the game (it's not an illegal tool like an aimbot, but PunkBuster doesn't seem to like any kind of hook) and i'm too n00bish to code raw API.
So, I would like to know if there is a way to show my form on top of everything (including full screen applications), even if it looses focus.

I would be very happy if anyone could tell me :D
Mr. FancyPants
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 1:27 pm

Postby madshi » Tue Jun 01, 2004 1:52 pm

I think a normal top most form is *not* shown above a DirectX full screen game. I guess you have to directly draw to the DirectX surfaces if you want your output to be visible. That's not going to be funny, though, it will be quite hard to realize... :(
madshi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9774
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Postby Mr. FancyPants » Tue Jun 01, 2004 4:18 pm

Thanx Madshi, but I guess I have to find some other way, because my programming skills aren't good enough.
Mr. FancyPants
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun May 30, 2004 1:27 pm

Postby nildo » Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:54 pm

HUm, you will not be allowed to hook it. Since PunkBuster can detect it. I got the same problem when hooking Counter Strike's OpenGL. Cheating Death does not allow :crazy:
nildo
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2004 11:32 am


Return to madCodeHook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests