Sending own packets to winsock hook.

c++ / delphi package - dll injection and api hooking
xHeaps

Sending own packets to winsock hook.

Post by xHeaps »

Hi all!

I would like to ask, is it possible to send own packets via hooked application?

I am kinda new to all this (hooking, i mean), and I am trying to figure out the ICQMenace tool. As I understand it, it hooks the winsock functions, dumps the data and parses it. So far - so good. However, I am wondering - is it possible to send your own packets via this hook? Because I think (and I'm probably wrong, too) the buffer needs to be placed in created socket, but, how to make the target process (icq in this case) understand and accept this socket?

In any case, could someone point me in the right direction?

Thank you all, and thanks madshi for this wonderful dll!
madshi
Site Admin

Post by madshi »

Sorry to say, but I'm not WinSock expert. Maybe someone else can help here...
nildo

Re: Sending own packets to winsock hook.

Post by nildo »

xHeaps wrote:Hi all!

I would like to ask, is it possible to send own packets via hooked application?

I am kinda new to all this (hooking, i mean), and I am trying to figure out the ICQMenace tool. As I understand it, it hooks the winsock functions, dumps the data and parses it. So far - so good. However, I am wondering - is it possible to send your own packets via this hook? Because I think (and I'm probably wrong, too) the buffer needs to be placed in created socket, but, how to make the target process (icq in this case) understand and accept this socket?

In any case, could someone point me in the right direction?

Thank you all, and thanks madshi for this wonderful dll!
Hello
You need a way to use the function SEND (of winsock) inside your DLL that is injected, and as the Socket parameter you need the handle of the socket that is openned by that other process.
xHeaps

I think I'm getting a hang of

Post by xHeaps »

Thanks for the replys.