unit 'madExcept' not found in binary file

delphi package - automated exception handling
madshi
Site Admin
Posts: 10339
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by madshi »

Your exe tries to use madExcept_.bpl as a runtime package. That's currently not supported! Please remove madExcept_.bpl from the list of runtime packages (project options). madExcept.pas must be linked into your executable.
Tolyan
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 10:45 am

Post by Tolyan »

madshi wrote:Your exe tries to use madExcept_.bpl as a runtime package. That's currently not supported! Please remove madExcept_.bpl from the list of runtime packages (project options). madExcept.pas must be linked into your executable.
Thanks a lot! :D
Really, exe was succesfully patched.
I fail to attend this preivious message:
madshi wrote: Currently madExcept doesn't support linking madExcept.pas into a package.
It means, if I have exe and runtime bpl (used in this exe), I can't use madX units in my bpl? :(
Or this feature will appear in
madExcept 3.0 which will support that (due out in a few weeks)
?[/b]
madshi
Site Admin
Posts: 10339
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by madshi »

Tolyan wrote:It means, if I have exe and runtime bpl (used in this exe), I can't use madX units in my bpl? :(
You can use all mad* units in your bpl, just not madExcept.
Tolyan wrote:Or this feature will appear in
madExcept 3.0 which will support that (due out in a few weeks)
?
Yep, with madExcept 3.0 you'll be able to put madExcept.pas into your bpl, as well.
Tolyan
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 10:45 am

Post by Tolyan »

madshi wrote:You can use all mad* units in your bpl, just not madExcept.
This means, what I can use madStackTrace.dcu for my bpl?
Or I can't use unit's from madExecpt_.bpl in my bpl?
madshi
Site Admin
Posts: 10339
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by madshi »

I think you can add madStackTrace to your bpl, I've not tested that yet, though. Basically the only thing which you may not add to the bpl is "madExcept.pas".
Tolyan
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 10:45 am

Post by Tolyan »

madshi wrote:I think you can add madStackTrace to your bpl, I've not tested that yet, though. Basically the only thing which you may not add to the bpl is "madExcept.pas".
Khe-khe...

Experiment with exe and 2 bpls:
Goal: raise exception in form from 1st bpl and see madExcept message dialog

In)
1) use madExcept in my exe (check madExcept setting "handle exception")

1st experiment:
In) 2) not use madStackTrace in my 2nd bpl (functionality was commented)
Out) Cool - madExcept message dialog was appeared

2nd experiment:
In) 2) use madStackTrace in my 2nd bpl (with required madExcept_.bpl)
Out) Suxx - madExcept message dialog was not appeared

3rd experiment:
In) 2) use madStackTrace in my 2nd bpl (implicitly imported units
madCrypt.dcu, madDisAsm.dcu, madMapFile.dcu, madStackTrace.dcu,
madStrings.dcu, madTools.dcu, madTypes.dcu, madZip.dcu)
Out) Suxx - madExcept message dialog was not appeared

:cry:

I think - 3rd madExcept will appear - 3rd madExcept will help me! :)

Or not?! :?
madshi
Site Admin
Posts: 10339
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by madshi »

Whatever you do, you MUST NOT use madExcept_.bpl at runtime. This package may only be used at design time. Otherwise madExcept will not work.

As I already said repeatedly, all these problems will be solved with madExcept 3.0.
Tolyan
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 10:45 am

Post by Tolyan »

Thanks once again :D
Good luck :greenBalloon:
Good-bye
Post Reply