MadExcept does not create reports

delphi package - automated exception handling
PizzaProgram

MadExcept does not create reports

Post by PizzaProgram »

I'm new to this.
(I've wrote a long detailed post here, clicked Preview and this forum asked me to re-login. Lost 2 hours of work. :o )

I've changed some setting, after that:
... ME does not create any bugreport.txt in the exe folder nor any .mbr file on desktop at other PCs,
only on the developer machine !

It worked the first time on other PC too, with default settings.

Attached .mes file.

Hint:
I'm changing the default path of all "Desktop" folder to E:\_DOK\Asztal
because users are copying sometimes more GB of data there, filling up C:\ .
Can be that a problem?
Attachments
TermiPRO.zip
MES setting file
(2.41 KiB) Not downloaded yet
iconic
Site Admin

Re: MadExcept does not create reports

Post by iconic »

I've changed some setting, after that
So, in my understanding madExcept created reports for anyone until then? If madExcept can't produce a log file in the location specified it will fail, period. That goes for any new file being created on a disk that may be full. My apologies in case I misunderstood what you meant.
E:\_DOK\Asztal
If that's YOUR local folder, it works, otherwise likely not. A customer's folder shouldn't be specific to a single machine and not every customer has a mapped E: drive.

--Iconic
PizzaProgram

Post by PizzaProgram »

Thank you for the quick answer! :-)
So, in my understanding madExcept created reports for anyone until then?
1. Yes, exactly! So it is clear: it has write access.

(I always set up machines with full write access to it's own E:\TermiPRO\ folder, and it has write access to the desktop too, because it can save or export things with a "save as dialog"...)

2. So the big question remains: why did it stop creating logs after I have changed some settings?
A customer's folder shouldn't be specific to a single machine