Package won't load because the madExcept expert isn't loaded

delphi package - automated exception handling
Post Reply
Bastien Hofmann
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:42 pm

Package won't load because the madExcept expert isn't loaded

Post by Bastien Hofmann »

Hello everyone,

I'm developper for an application which uses madExcept 3.0b, loads bpl plugins.

When debugging in the IDE or lauching the application alone there's no problem, but when I'm doing some profiling with AQTime, each plugin loading fails with the message : "The madExcept expert is not loaded in Delphi".

Do you have any idea on where it comes from and how to fix that ?

Thanks in advance,
Bastien
madshi
Site Admin
Posts: 10766
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by madshi »

I don't think that message comes from madExcept itself. Those bpl plugins you're talking about, are that plugins for madExcept, for Delphi, for your own app or for AQTime? If those are your own plugins, are they compiled with madExcept?
Bastien Hofmann
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:42 pm

Post by Bastien Hofmann »

These are plugins for my own app, and they are compiled with madExcept.
Bastien Hofmann
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:42 pm

Post by Bastien Hofmann »

Sorry, I just realized that is not a madExcept message, but one of the application, which uses the Sysutils_LoadPackage function pointer from the madExcept unit. It seems that when I do profiling this pointer is not initialized, is that possible ?
madshi
Site Admin
Posts: 10766
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by madshi »

I've searched through all my sources and the text "is not loaded" does not occur anywhere. This is the exact wording you get, right?

The message looks very much like someone is actually trying to locate the madExcept expert. It's not me. And if it's not your app or your plugin dlls, either, it probably can only be AQTime. However, I've never heard yet of that AQTime does anything madExcept specific! That would certainly be news to me. Maybe you can contact AQTime and ask them about it?

But better search your sources for "is not loaded" before... :D
madshi
Site Admin
Posts: 10766
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by madshi »

Oh, ok, it's your message... :wink:

I'm not sure exactly what AQTime does. It might be that it somehow results in that Sysutils_LoadPackage is nil, I'm not sure. It does sound a bit strange to me, though.
Bastien Hofmann
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:42 pm

Post by Bastien Hofmann »

Yes you are right, it comes from my app (see my previous post), I did not remember putting that here ;)
Bastien Hofmann
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:42 pm

Post by Bastien Hofmann »

It is strange...

My code is :

Code: Select all

// Used to avoid having madExcept intercept errors on loading packages
if Assigned(Sysutils_LoadPackage) then
  FModuleHandle := TLoadPackageFunction(Sysutils_LoadPackage)(FModuleFilename)
else
  raise Exception.Create('The madExcept expert is not loaded in Delphi');
so it seems to be the case
madshi
Site Admin
Posts: 10766
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Post by madshi »

Well, as I said, I don't know what AQTime does. Why don't you simply call LoadPackage instead, if Sysutils_LoadPackages is not assigned?
Bastien Hofmann
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 5:42 pm

Post by Bastien Hofmann »

I do now :)
I think I put that to see quickly if the app was compiled with madExcept or not.

Anyway, thanks a lot for your time :)
Post Reply