Problem with search results

just write whatever you want

Problem with search results

Postby ciuly » Wed May 16, 2007 6:23 am

I did a small search trying to find something. I set to display results as posts and show full post not just a few characters from it. most of the results looked like:
Code: Select all
<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Thanks<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>!

<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>unit<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span> <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Unit1<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>;

<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>interface<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>

<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>uses<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>
<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Windows<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>, <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Messages<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>, <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>SysUtils<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>, <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Classes<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>, <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Graphics<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>, <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Controls<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>, <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Forms<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>, <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Dialogs<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>,
<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>madExceptVcl<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>;

<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>type<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>
<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>TForm1<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span> = <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>class<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>(<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>TForm<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>)
<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>private<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>
{ <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Private<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span> <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>declarations<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span> }
<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>public<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>
{ <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>Public<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span> <span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>declarations<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span> }
<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>end<span style="color:#FFA34F"><b>b>span>;

which beside the problem of making the post close to impossible to read, on a big post this results in a huge result page :)

just thought to let you know ;)
ciuly
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Romania

Postby madshi » Wed May 16, 2007 8:09 am

Just tried such a search myself and it seems to work fine for me. I guess you just had back luck?
madshi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9826
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Postby ciuly » Wed May 16, 2007 8:43 am

unlikely. I tried on firefox and IE and both behave the same as my initial opera search.
open search (I used http://forum.madshi.net/search.php )
input: stacktrace OR "stack trace" called unit in the first editbox
select display as posts, select return first 'all available"
click search.
all ie, ff and opera get the same result so I suspect you'll get the same thing. If not, I will put a screenshot somewhere :)
ciuly
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Romania

Postby madshi » Wed May 16, 2007 9:05 am

Ok, I can reproduce that. But try the same search with only "stacktrace", then everything works fine. Maybe the forum software stumbles over the complicated "OR" search? No idea. And I don't know how to fix this. It's probably a bug in the forum software...
madshi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9826
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Postby ciuly » Wed May 16, 2007 9:15 am

probable. I've seen such issues on IPB based forums (not sure of the version). however, the OR is not the issue. I think it's the "show all available". I made the exact same search but I selected to show only the first 100 chars and that worked fine. nothing is bug-free :)
ciuly
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 1:16 pm
Location: Romania

Postby hershel » Mon Sep 17, 2007 5:40 am

Hi madshi,
may I know how did u solve this problem?
I have the exact same problem in my forum, when I input some terms or string in search field... i got those strange html codes between the searched word...! Hope you can help!
hershel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 5:37 am

Postby madshi » Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:02 am

I didn't do anything. It's a problem with the forum software and I'm not able to fix it... :?
madshi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9826
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Postby hershel » Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:22 am

Thanks for your reply madshi. I have found this forum from google, because I was looking for phpbb search related problems and I found only you and this post specifically which replicates the same for me :) anyway... it's okay... I guess we are forced to live with it :)
If in the future i will find any solution, I will let you know!
hershel
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 5:37 am


Return to fun talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests