eac3to - change FLAC compression level

just write whatever you want

eac3to - change FLAC compression level

Postby funkyiguana » Sat Oct 10, 2015 3:33 pm

Hi madshi,

First of all, thanks for such a wonderful tool. eac3to really is an exceptional piece of software and I'm very grateful that you release it for free use.

I just have a query about FLAC compression. From an old thread, I see that eac3to uses level 8 by default (best compression, slowest encode time).

Is there any way to change this? I use FLAC files as a temporary step in my conversion process (it's the only lossless format accepted by my audio program) so speed matters more than compression.

Is there any way to specify, for example, level 0 compression for FLAC output instead? If not, could the eac3to (or libFLAC) executables be hex-edited to change the default level used?

Many thanks!
funkyiguana
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: eac3to - change FLAC compression level

Postby madshi » Sat Oct 10, 2015 3:41 pm

Hello,

this forum is mostly meant for my commercial software, not for eac3to/madVR. You'll get good support in the doom9 eac3to thread. There many experienced users helping out on doom9, so that I don't have to do all the support work myself.
madshi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9822
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm

Re: eac3to - change FLAC compression level

Postby funkyiguana » Sat Oct 10, 2015 7:00 pm

Ah, apologies. I should have realised from the lack of an eac3to sub-forum!

Keep up the great work.
funkyiguana
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: eac3to - change FLAC compression level

Postby madshi » Sat Oct 10, 2015 9:24 pm

No probs at all.
madshi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 9822
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 5:25 pm


Return to fun talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests